NICE019 The False Poets - Glissando

 New release 05/02/2021

The single from The False Poets' forthcoming album Strange Season, it's Glissando.

Available from Glissando is backed with another original False Poets song from the Strange Season sessions, Drama Queen, as well as a coruscating mix of the A-side by nebulous label-mates The Support Band.

Label scribe VH Monks writes:

"This first cut from the second album by The False Poets is a slice of western bagadashio. Slouch with a greased fret, it moves with gentle thrusts at an early 90s indie disco, pre-empting Tim Burgess’ falsetto by a few years while sliding down a Noelesque firepole when he was vibrant and relevant.

This isn’t to say The False Poets are burying themselves 30 years in the past (their natural garage golden nuggets reflex tendencies precede that by a further 30 years usually, so if anything they are comparatively bang up to date). Glissando is a fresh listen, searing into an ear worm of shrugging chorus (“put on a different face”) and looped hummable guitar line ingratiated with melody and swagger.

It stings from the off, that bounce and sling repeat settling into a casual louche rhythmic cool, standing tall in a glistening ball of betrayal turned to energy.  There is a literal titular reflection in the music, this dramatic surge pitching one note to another, and lyrically the rub of extravagance and decadence distending to any reprieve of lofty heights being the fall.

“You try to drag me down” prevails Chris Riley, frontman and sole guitarist this time round, pushing back until a crashed out fade is left to tumble and drift…

Shuffle and sling, Drama Queen comes in, an exclusive non album bonus, with its roots in the rhythm section pomp and pump to drive it, Peter Dinsdale and Ian Carroll on 4 strings and stool respectively.  A sub 2 minute dance floor filler, with persistent blues licks jumping around frets throughout, behind vocals to solos and back, it carries inverted nursery rhyme logic and classic hard done by heartbreak.

From baggy to R&B, The False Poets return with sounds of two era defining musical legacies remembered, revived and revigorated.  And the promise of more to come…"

NICE019 The False Poets - Glissando. Out Now on Nice Mind Records

Chris Riley - In The Haze

(Nice Mind Records, NICE018)
Digital Download - £1

An original single and b-side written and recorded in and inspired by the second phase of the UK 2020 lockdown.

Label scribe VH Monks writes on the release below:

"Both of the new acoustic tracks featured on this single cut from Nice Mind’s lead minstrel are much more personal and straightforward than much of what came with Cestrian, Riley’s album that arrived a few months ago, and yet they carry a fair load and the magnitude of what 2020 has delivered all the same.

With these nostalgic trips comes the weight of the clime, and while his album came together in lockdown, you can feel these were songs borne out of it; brief escapism to memory and the battering of liberty.

But you should free yourself with them really.

‘In the Haze’ is a mature take on a youthful escapade forgotten, and then more, perhaps your entire ancestry behind you, entwined into a pale, translucent thread. It bleeds into being, the intimate guitar nestled in a somehow vibrant but barely-there synth cocoon, and then this quietly shattering music sends small spells of thunder around the titular refrain. Like the cover, it’s a colourful ripple across history and mind, a luminous flash over lullaby and shadows, a burning flame through calm and waning. Sometimes lightning strikes over the most still of lakes.

From the sometimes forlorn, to that black and white photo of your grandparents goofing about, a twinkle in the old man’s crooked smile. ‘There’ll Never Be (Another You)’ is pretty in twee, but not excessively or mawkishly so. Just unabashedly open and heart pumpingly gentle, a carefree runaway compared to its pairing. Stumbling tumbling memories ride over peels of skip hop picks, tender but racing into the past, rushing to grab onto an ethereal image that whispers from history. The spiralling guitar that fades in echo to close is like waking up in a cold sweat and smiles.

Chris sings on both of these tracks as if channeling the feelings of a past self, a natural relaxed warm tone, reflective and emotive, an occasional echo at peace with himself, if not certain moments that taunt (haunt?) him.

Songs to play with, to rest with, to grow with."

-VH Monks- October 2020

Available to stream and download from Nice Mind Records here.


Chris Riley

Nice Mind Records proudly present Cestrian the debut album by label stalwart Chris Riley. Written and recorded over a number of years, 13 original acoustic tracks of diverse moods and colours through a psychfolk filter.

"This album refracts a myriad of lights and darks, a kaleidoscope of maturity +jollity, folk + prog, poetry + imagery, whistling + recorders, acoustic refrains + vibrating sonic beams." VH Monks

All songs written, performed and recorded by Chris Riley with additional organ and guitar by WVP (Tracks 5, 6, 12 & 13).

Mixed and Mastered at The Culture Bunker by Nice Mind Records.

Available on Limited Edition CD with fabulous artwork by sydelic and for stream and download with exclusive extras here at Nice Mind Records.



Chris Riley

When The Roses Are In Bloom' by Chris Riley.
Taken from the forthcoming album 'Cestrian' (available July 3rd in both digital & CD formats), this EP features 4 tracks written by Chris himself. Only the title track will be on the album so if you want to hear the should have been on the album future classic 'Away From My Door', this is the only place to get it!


whitevanperil / Suddenly Bears (NICE015)

Unlikely label friends whitevanperil and Suddenly Bears have joined forces to create
'Lives' by WVPSB.
2 Tracks:
No Lives Matter Fuck You - whitevanperil give us a 10min sonic assault that sounds like the sirens warning Whitechapel of impending doom.
All Lives Matter Love You - Suddenly Bears do what they do best, try to calm us all down and forget about the world
So, welcome to 'lives'.
Please note, the download comes with a text-free version of the now deleted cover for you to savour in any way you so desire


Suddenly Bears

Out now on Nice Mind Records, the debut album by Suddenly Bears.
'I Fought The Dharma (and the Dharma Won) is 60 minutes of Stockhausen, Satie, Radiophonic inspired music to aid in the creation of mental constructs.
At times drone-like, at times dreamlike, at all times, very Suddenly Bears
Written and recorded by the Bears themselves. Mixed and glued together at the Culture Bunker all for the glory of Nice Mind Records
Digital only release for the bear friendly price of £4


Chris Riley

Welcome to Syracuse, the first single from the upcoming album from singer, songwriter and dicey poet, Chris Riley.

And what a single it is!

Starting with the title track, Syracuse, a magical song that takes you out of time and mind, on an adventure where you are the hero, your reward being this beautiful tune. Just roll with it.
Following that, Chris spends some time living with his psycho baby before sending it off to label friends The Support Band to add some extra psychotic sounds.
To finish we are introduced to a messed up monkey who just wants you to shake his tree.

All in all, a perfect introduction to what you can expect to hear on 'Cestrian', Chris's debut album, coming soon on Nice Mind Records

All songs were written and recorded by Chris Riley.
Mixed and produced at the Culture Bunker by Nice Mind Records

Digital only releaseSyracuse (Bandcamp)